The First Joint Summer School are organized in co-operation with the Barents Cross-Border University (BCBU), the Finnish-Russian Cross-Border University (CBU) and the Barents Cross-Border university development project 2011 - 2013 (BCBU+).

The Barents Cross-Border University project (BCBU) is the result of cooperation of 13 universities in Norther Finland, Northwest Russia, Sweden, Norway and Canada with international Master´s programmes covering
five study fields: Social work, Information technology, Health and Wellbeing, Environmental Engineering and Law.

The 13 universities are: University of Lapland and University of Oulu from Finland, Karelian State Pedagogical Academy, Petrozavodsk State University, Murmansk Humanities Institute, Murmansk State Humanities University, Murmansk State Technical University, Northern (Arctic) Federal University, Northern State Medical University from Russia, Narvik University College from Norway, Luleå University of Technology from Sweden, University of Southern Denmark from Denmark and University of Manitoba.


The Finnish-Russian Cross-Border University is the result of cooperation of ten universities in Russia and Finland, with international Joint Master’s degree programmes currently in five study fields: Business and Administration, Forestry and Environmental Engineering, Information and Communications Technology, International Relations and Public Health. 

The ten partner universities are: University of Helsinki, University of Eastern Finland, Lappeenranta University of Technology, University of Tampere from Finland and St. Petersburg State University, St. Petersburg State Polytechnical University, St. Petersburg State Forest Technical University, Moscow State Forest University, Petrozavodsk State University and the European University at St. Petersburg from Russia. 


The aims of the Barents Cross-Border University development project is further develop, harmonize, expand and integrate BCBU master´s degree programs to regular activities of partner universities. The main activities are developing the models of good practices and the eLearning facilities for implementation and co-operation for master´s programs. The project is funded by Kolartic ENPI CBC programme for the years 2011 - 2013.

The project based on the cooperation between 10 universities of BCBU network from 4 countries.
The partners are University of Lapland, University of Oulu, Karelian State Pedagogical Academy, Murmansk Humanities Institute, Murmansk State Humanities University, Murmansk State Technical University, Northern (Arctic) Federal University, Northern State Medical University and  Petrozavodsk State University, Narvik University College and Luleå University of Technology.

 BCBU logo.jpg 

        CBU logo .jpg       Kolartic logo.jpg