The higher education degrees and the credit system

Frequently asked questions concerning the higher education degrees and the credit system:

  • Can I continue my studies after completing a master’s programme?
  • Do I receive credits for my studies?


  • There are three basic higher education degrees: bachelor’s degree, master’s degree and PhD degree. The bachelor’s degree programmes usually last for 3-4 years. Master’s degree programmes last for 1-2 years above to the bachelor’s level. PhD degree programme might take 3-4 years of studies on top of the master’s studies.
    In Russia there is a separate degree called Specialist that takes 5 years. At the same time it is possible to obtain and specialist degree in 1-1,5 years on top of the bachelor’s degree. In addition there are some differences in obtaining the doctors degree in Russia .
    For more information on the higher education systems in the Barents Region visit  
  • The unit by which study progress is measured is called ECTS (the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System). It is a student-centred system based on the student workload required to achieve the objectives of a programme. ECTS is based on the principle that 60 credits measure the workload of a full-time student during one academic year.
  • The minimum number of credits required for a bachelor’s degree is 180 credits and for a master’s degree - 120 credits.
< top
Verkkopalvelumme käyttää evästeitä, lue lisää evästeistä. Jatkamalla sivuston selailua hyväksyt evästeiden käytön. [Hyväksyn ehdot]