Towards a Common Nordic Master’s Degree Programme in Teacher Education


The objective of the collaboration between five Arctic universities—The Arctic Five —is to build a collaboration model for teacher education and to develop a broad common educational offering. The long-term objective of the collaboration efforts is to develop a Nordic Master’s Degree Programme for teacher education.

The universities engaging in the Arctic5 Teacher Education collaboration are the University of Lapland, the University of Oulu, Luleå University of Technology, the Umeå University and UiT The Arctic University of Norway. The collaboration aims at enhancing understanding of the characteristics of the Nordic educational structures and the cultural aspects related to them. Arctic5 also forms a part of the strategic activities of the five universities.

The collaboration further enhances the teacher education profile of the University of Lapland as a unit focusing on the specificities of the Arctic and Nordic operational environment. The challenges of teacher education the collaboration partners are facing are to a large extent similar, and reciprocal learning through collaboration opens up new perspectives into local development activities.

The collaboration of the Arctic universities is part of the UArctic Thematic Network (TN) Arctic Teacher Education in Social Justice and Equality. The objectives of the network are to build a collaboration model for teacher education, to map the competence of each partner institution, and to share the expertise and best practices.
The five Arctic universities work together to create unique opportunities to students, faculties as well as stakeholders.

Further information


Tuija Turunen

University lecturer
Erika Sarivaara
Our website uses cookies, read more. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]